You are here > Home - My Life as a Thai Monk
Tue 23 Sep 2014
Thai Monk

If you are a real Thai buddhist, you probably know about 'buat phra' or becoming a monk for your mother. Since the very old times, Thai people believe that all Thai men have to become a monk when they reach the age of 20. The reason being is to do it for your mother so when she died she would hold on to your monk's robe and go to heaven. As I am a buddhist, I decided to follow the Thai tradition and become a monk. I also wanted to make up for all the bad things I have done to my family and my friend, Richard. So, this is the least I could do.

# Article Title Date Author Hits
1 Showing Respect to Relations Friday, 15 April 2005 Panrit "Gor" Daoruang 7117
2 Hair-Shaving Ceremony Friday, 15 April 2005 Panrit "Gor" Daoruang 12668
3 Telling the Local Shrines Friday, 15 April 2005 Panrit "Gor" Daoruang 7545
4 Shaving Hair Ceremony Monday, 18 April 2005 Richard Barrow 9227
5 Chanting and a Sermon Tuesday, 19 April 2005 Richard Barrow 7048
6 The Procession around the Temple Wednesday, 20 April 2005 Richard Barrow 5685
7 Ordination as a Monk Thursday, 21 April 2005 Richard Barrow 7369
8 Ordination of a Thai Monk II Friday, 22 April 2005 Richard Barrow 9047
9 Morning Alms Round Wednesday, 27 April 2005 Richard Barrow 5843
10 What do Monks eat for Breakfast? Thursday, 28 April 2005 Richard Barrow 8269
11 227 Rules for Monks Monday, 09 May 2005 Richard Barrow 11152
12 Life in a Thai Temple Tuesday, 10 May 2005 Richard Barrow 8583
13 Leaving the Monkhood Saturday, 14 May 2005 Richard Barrow 9147