You are here > Home - My Life as a Thai Monk
Thu 23 Feb 2017
Thai Monk

If you are a real Thai buddhist, you probably know about 'buat phra' or becoming a monk for your mother. Since the very old times, Thai people believe that all Thai men have to become a monk when they reach the age of 20. The reason being is to do it for your mother so when she died she would hold on to your monk's robe and go to heaven. As I am a buddhist, I decided to follow the Thai tradition and become a monk. I also wanted to make up for all the bad things I have done to my family and my friend, Richard. So, this is the least I could do.

# Article Title Date Author Hits
1 Showing Respect to Relations Friday, 15 April 2005 Panrit "Gor" Daoruang 8937
2 Hair-Shaving Ceremony Friday, 15 April 2005 Panrit "Gor" Daoruang 15554
3 Telling the Local Shrines Friday, 15 April 2005 Panrit "Gor" Daoruang 8927
4 Shaving Hair Ceremony Monday, 18 April 2005 Richard Barrow 10913
5 Chanting and a Sermon Tuesday, 19 April 2005 Richard Barrow 8552
6 The Procession around the Temple Wednesday, 20 April 2005 Richard Barrow 6918
7 Ordination as a Monk Thursday, 21 April 2005 Richard Barrow 9735
8 Ordination of a Thai Monk II Friday, 22 April 2005 Richard Barrow 10403
9 Morning Alms Round Wednesday, 27 April 2005 Richard Barrow 7536
10 What do Monks eat for Breakfast? Thursday, 28 April 2005 Richard Barrow 10483
11 227 Rules for Monks Monday, 09 May 2005 Richard Barrow 17680
12 Life in a Thai Temple Tuesday, 10 May 2005 Richard Barrow 10659
13 Leaving the Monkhood Saturday, 14 May 2005 Richard Barrow 11483